I Went To A Wake On Friday

January 22, 2007 at 11:19 pm (Unzipped Thoughts)

We gathered together for a funeral. Earthtel, Inc. [a call center located in Oakland, Ca. that raised money for “liberal” organizations such as The Sierra Club, and the NAACP] died.

Callers [fund raisers], administrative folks, managers… even the owner was there.

I worked for and with Earthtel, Inc. for the better part of the last few years. It was a place that served me well. Not only did I introduce my ill-fated “Zig for Pope” campaign there, but I also made some terrific friends.

The powers that be were *never* upfront with the employees and took a once thriving business down the tubes at an alarming rate while those of us with the brains and/or skills to make a difference [if utilized properly] could only watch while, week after week, chairs were re-arranged on the deck of the “Titanic”.

That said, Earthtel’s demise saddens me.

wake1

wake2

wake3

Edited to add: Here’s a link to a follow- up blog that I wrote.

Leave a Reply

