Uncle Marv Grissom

April 3, 2007 at 12:46 pm (Baseball, Fantasy Baseball)

marv-grissom.jpg

In July of 1983 I walked into the Modesto A’s [a minor league team in the California League, affiliated with the Oakland Athletics] clubhouse. Replete with a carload of sample big league baseball cards, contracts for players, and enough Bazooka gum to assure the team’s dentist’s wealth, I was a welcome guest. My new affiliation with Topps Baseball Co. was providing me an entre to a private world – Organized Baseball . For the next 13 years I would drive the west coast from San Diego to Washington, making new friends and reacquainting myself with old ones.

Uncle Marv was the very first person to greet me. He knew my boss, Sy Berger, and although I was “city” and he was “country,” we hit it off. Marv Grissom was a solid pitcher on the 1954 Woild Serious winning New York Giants, my boyhood team [he was the winning pitcher in the series game that is famous for the “Willie Catch,” rather than the “Willie throw,” which is what it was about]. Years later he was a pitching coach for the Halos. I’d talk to him for hours, year after year, about those days, about family [his son is named Bruce, as is my brother], and about life. I miss him and mourn his passing.

marv_grissom_autograph.jpg

So, what a thrill it was yesterday when my new baseball computer simulation game, “Baseball Mogul 2007,” arrived. The game allows me to re-create with *remarkable* accuracy, aside the Cubs playing night games at Wrigley back then, the 1954 season [or any other season, for that matter]. There was Marv [along with Willie, Mickey and the Duke] living on – if only in my fantasies.

4 Comments

  1. Phil DePaul said,

    As a New York Giant fan I remember that game and that glorious year of 1954 very well. Marv and Hoyt Wilhelm were the Giants closers before there was such a name as “closers.” They both saved a ton of games for the Giants that year. Grissom had several good years wih my beloved New York Giants. I believe Marv had a nephew who pitched in the National League the same time Marv. I think his name was Jackie Davis or something like that. He may have pitched for the Reds. I can look it up if you like.

    Thanks for your thoughts on Marv. It brought back many pleasant memories for me.

  2. Ralph Zig Tyko said,

    Thanks for your thoughts, Paul. Marv and Hoyt [who hit a home run in his first major league AB and never again in his illustrious career] did indeed split the “closer” role. Marv also started a number of games.
    Marv did have a nephew, Jim Davis, who was a Cub, and an older brother who pitched in the majors.
    Dems were da days, Phil. Keep in touch.

  3. Tony said,

    Great info Ralph.

  4. Ralph Zig Tyko said,

    Thanks Tony.

Leave a Reply

