Casey, Casey, and Charles Dillon

April 12, 2007 at 1:24 pm (Baseball, Fantasy Baseball, New York Mets)

Quite a “Casey day” I’m having. In the Angels game this morning [my time], won by the Indians, Caseys Blake [an Otter] and Kotchman [who, as a 13 year old batboy, played a cameo role in “Portland Rockies: The Video” that I, as Zig and Zag, Man, Productions, co-produced in 1995] both took the collar [oh-for, zippo, nada, gornisht] As you may imagine, all that pleased me not.

I drowned my sorrows by managing the 1962 Mets in my computer game. Sadly, the accurate simulation provided by Baseball Mogul 2007 includes the ragged play of said “Amazins.”

Happily, the computer is unable to simulate just how *bad* they really were and my team is off to a 4-8 start. No small trick, given the likes of Herb Moford, Elio Chacon, and Rod Kanehl.

RIP Charles Dillon “Casey” Stengel. After managing these guys for real, you damn sure deserve to.

1962-casey-stengel-si-cover-3-5-1962

Leave a Reply

