Kittatinny Camp 1959

April 17, 2007 at 1:36 am (Kittatinny Camp)

I found my time in Basic Training with the Air Force far less regimented than Uncle A’s [Arnold Fink] camp schedule. Every moment of every day for eight weeks was planned out with more care than the Invasion of Normandy. Built into the day [with me in mind, perhaps?] was an hour or two of “free time” after dinner. My bunkmate, Alan Cooper [pictured second from left, top row, next to me], and I – more often than not – would grab our gloves and run around in the grass and play catch. First day or so we heard a voice. “May I join in? I’m Chuck.” Chuck Bretzin was the new counselor a few bunks down. Replete with catcher’s mitt and a blue pro-style baseball cap with an LH emblem [Lock Haven State Teachers College]. Turns out he had played a season of minor league ball. I remember his giving us thirteen year olds firm, constructive advice. “Keep your elbow up, rotate your hips when you throw.”

Through the miracle of search engines, Chuck’s wife responded to a comment Dick Berk wrote in response to my blog. She writes about their terrific family and the wonderful memories that Chuck has of Kittatinny. She will never know how much that news made my day.

klc-59

Counselors are Alan Sacks, the best fielding infielder in KLC history and a loving gentle man, and Paul Granoff, the Duke alum whose softball pitching exploits are legendary on Long Island . Other campers are Mark Himmel, Steve Blank, Paul Weissman, and Steve Kravitz.

4 Comments

  1. Ralph Zig Tyko said,

    Dear Mrs. Bretzin,
    I encourage Chuck and any Kittatinny alum. to send me pictures that I’ll post on this site. That Chuck chose to dedicate his life to teaching, doesn’t surprise me. He had a great way with the kids. I wonder if he remembers teaching me and my fellow campers to roll our ball caps and put a crown in them- the professional way.
    Thanks again,
    RZT
    rtyko@pc4dc.org

  2. Ralph Zig Tyko said,

    Dick,
    You and/or any KLC alum are welcome to send me pictures and I’d be delighted to post them on this blog …email me if you need to send by snail mail – rmtyko5@yahoo.com. Kinkos will scan and email if you don’t want to do it at home …’til that time., RZT

  3. Ralph Zig Tyko said,

    Hey Dave. Thanks for chipping in. I remember you as one of the best center fielders in KLC history. God, you had speed. I think it was Mark Himell back left and Steve Kravitz, front right. [For some reason your comment disappeared. My answer stands.]

  4. dick Berk said,

    I had the opportunity to catch Paul Granoff once – quite an experience! Not only did I not see the ball every time but was not required to move my glove, either, since the ball hit the target whereever it was. And without a cup!!!

Leave a Reply

