Art Spector Update

December 18, 2007 at 8:06 pm (Kittatinny Camp)

From today’s Email:

“My Great Grandfather, Charles Grettner, was the baker for the camp. I sent the picture from the website to my Dad and he did a double take. He is the father of 4, married twice. I am his oldest child, living in Rose Valley, PA . I manage an historic state and trust, and have 2 children. My sister is a professor of psychology in Minnesota and has 2 children. My brother is a perpetual student and is living at home caring for his mother. His youngest child, Jonathan, plays professional soccer for West Ham United in England, the US National Team, is slated for the Olymics in Bejing and the next World Cup, so long as he is injury free. I know that my Dad would love to hear from anyone that remembers him, but he doesn’t enjoy using the computer. Please contact me through my email and I will put you in touch.”

Thanks,

Christine Olmsted

christie@theolmsteds.net

On a personal note, I now have a rooting interest in soccer- for the first time in my life… Also, I’ve always thought of Art when the now infamous Phil Spector crossed my mind, but not before thinking of Phil’s onetime bride, Ronnie of the Shirelles. Gawd she was hot.

Go Jonathan Spector!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Go Green Team!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Go Art Spector!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Go Charles Grettner!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Go Christie Olmsted!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Go K-I-T-T-A-T-I-N-N-Y!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Go Ronnie Spector!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

7 Comments

  1. dick berk said,

    Zig:
    Isn’t it amazing hiow we go through life not knowing? Art spector , who I have not seen since 1959 or 60 is christine’s father. I emailied her and she gave art my phone #!!! And he has been living nearby over the past 40 years. You never know…

  2. Ralph Zig Tyko said,

    Through the miracle of the internet, we’re all neighbors.
    Happy holidays to you and all the KLC alum, who never forget our green and white roots.
    Love and luck to all.

  3. gary kauffman said,

    charlie worked for my uncle morris and then my brother jay and then me when we supervised the kitchen. charlie made the best sugar donuts in the world…and the best dinner rolls i ever had. his hands were gnarled with missing fingers lost in the bakery’s dangerous mixers….and i remember well the morning he came into the kitchen, about 3 or 4 a.m. to make the donuts…being diabetic, he was not well that morning….he lost his balance while heating the oils in a large pot to drop in the dough that raised into the doughnuts…..he fell forward…and caught himself by putting his hands into the hot oil pot. he burned himself badly ….i do not remember him recovering in time to bake for us again that summer….his hands remained bandaged for a long time….i miss him when i think of camp…he was one of my “memorable characters” because i was always in the kitchen with Chow Chan, the head cook, and the others…pong, etc. charlie was a fabulous baker and a person i will never forget.

  4. Ralph Zig Tyko said,

    I learn something new every day. I thought Morris was your dad, Gar.

  5. GARY KAUFFMAN said,

    I TRIED TO REACH CHRISTIE OLMSTED BUT IT FAILED TO DELIVER…PLEASE INCLUDE THIS FOR HDEAR MS. OLMSTEAD,

    TONIGHT I READ YOUR LETTER TO RALPHY TYKO….ON OUR KLC SITE. MOST OF THE CHILDREN WOULD PROBABLY KNOW LITTLE OF YOUR GRANDDAD….JUST THAT HE HAD A LITTLE CABIN ON THE HILL BEFORE BOY’S CAMP…OR THAT THEY LOVED THE WONDERFUL ROLLS AND CINAMON BUNS THEY GOT FROM HIM . I AM A BIT MORE FAMILIAR WITH CHARLIE BECAUSE I WORKED IN THE KITCHEN WITH HIM AND THE CHINESE STAFF LED BY CHOW CHAN OF N.Y., THE HEAD CHEF FROM LUM FONGS IN N.Y…….

    CHARLIE WOULD OPEN THE KITCHEN WHEN HE CAME IN TO BAKE…ABOUT 4 A.M. OR EARLIER IF HE HAD A BUSY DAY AHEAD. HE MELTED HIS OILS FOR DONUTS AND MIXED HIS DOUGHS FOR ROLLS AND CAKES IN THE LITTLE ROOM OFF THE KITCHEN THAT WAS HIS BAKERY.HE WAS A JOY TO SPEND TIME WITH. MANY MORNINGS I WOULD SPEND EARLIER HOURS HELPING HIM CARRY PANS AROUND OR PINCHING DOUGH BALLS FOR DOUGHNUTS. HE WOULD TELL ME STORIES ABOUT HIS LIFE AND EXPERIENCES AND LISTEN TO MY LITTLE TALES OF LIFE FROM MY FEW TEENAGED YEARS OF EXPERIENCE. MANY LESSONS OF LIFE CAME TO ME FROM THAT WISE AND EXPERIENCED OLD MAN.I REMEMBER SO VIVIDLY HOW HE WOULD PINCH THE DOUGH WITH HIS HANDS, SO WOUNDED BY THE YEARS , DAMAGED BY ACCIDENTS IN THE BAIN MARIE OR OVEN DOORS…LESS THAN 10 FINGERS LEFT, BUT HE STILL DID HIS JOB….MY SADDEST MEMORY IS THE MORNING HE CAME IN , AS HE ALWAYS DID…..TO MAKE HIS GREAT DONUTS. HE HEATED UP THE OIL ON OUR BIG KITCHEN STOVES IN LOW SHALLOW POTS SO HE COULD DROP IN THE DOUGH BALLS TO FRY. ON THAT SAD MORNING, HIS DIABETES WAS HIS WORST NIGHT MARE….HE GOT DIZZY AND FELL FORWARD…HE CAUGHT HIMSELF FROM FALLING ONTO THE STOVE’S SURFACE BY PUTTING OUT HIS ARMS…STRAIGHT INTO THE BOILING OIL FILLED POT.

    MY UNCLE MORRIS FOUND HIM, HE WAS THE STEWARD AND CAME IN NOT LONG AFTER THAT AND CHARLIE WAS RUSHED TO MEDICAL CARE…..HE NEVER WAS ABLE TO BAKE AGAIN THAT SUMMER …HIS HANDS DID NOT HEAL WELL I WAS TOLD. I BELIEVE THAT WAS THE LAST SUMMER HE WORKED FOR MY FAMILY AT THE CAMP. I REMEMBER HIM SO FONDLY FROM ALL THOSE YEARS.

    MY DAD BOUGHT THE CAMP IN 1946 AND I BELIEVE CHARLIE CAME WITH THE CAMP….DAD DIED TWO YEARS LATER AND UNCLE HENRY TOOK OVER.. CHARLIE WAS A PART OF THE FAMILY AT KLC. EVERY WAITER AND BUSBOY WHO WORKED IN THAT KITCHEN CAME TO KNOW HIM…HE BAKED BIRTHDAY CAKES FOR CAMPERS WHEN NEEDED. I REMEMBER ONE SPECIAL ONE HE MADE FOR ME. IT WAS MY BIRTHDAY AND I WANTED TO “REWARD” A REALLY LAZY WAITER CREW…I ASKED HIM TO BAKE A CAKE AND WHEN HE WAS NOT LOOKING I DROPPED CHOCOLATE LAXATIVES IN THE CHOCOLATE ICING….. YOU CAN IMAGING HOW HE LECTURED ME WHEN HE FOUND OUT….AND HOW WE LAUGHED ABOUT IT AFTERWARDS. CHARLIE WAS MY FRIEND AND CONTRIBUTED TO MANY OF MY PLEASANT CAMP MEMORIES. WHEN THE OTHERS THINK OF THE COUNSELLORS AND THEIR FRIENDS, I ALSO THINK OF THE

    KITCHEN STAFF I WORKED WITH AND MEN LIKE CHARLIE WHO KNEW ME FROM WHEN I WAS A 6 YEAR OLD RUNNY NOSED LITTLE REDHEADED KID RUNNING IN AND OUT OF THE KITCHEN TO GRAB ONE OF HIS TREATS.

    I AM PRETTY SURE MOST OF MY MEMORIES ARE ACCURRATE AS MY 67 YEARS HAVE ALLOWED ME TO STILL REMEMBER CLEARLY THOSE WONDERFUL DAYS AT KITTATINNY.

    I HOPE THESE THOUGHTS ARE PLEASANT FOR YOU ( WITH THE EXCEPTION OF THE MISFORTUNE THAT CHARLIE ENDURED THAT HORRIBLE MORNING) HE WAS A GRAND OLD MAN AND DESERVES TO BE REMEMBERED FONDLY…

    RESPECTFULLY, GARY KAUFFMAN

    (KITTATINNY FAMILY 1946-1972)
    ER IF SHE EVER RETURNS TO THE BLOG

  6. Fred Hartman said,

    Gary

    Great story…I remember Charley well.

    I remember you and your brother Jay…two redheads.

Leave a Reply

