Kittatinny Camp, Replete With Harrisons

March 8, 2008 at 8:53 pm (Kittatinny Camp)

In 1958 my Counselors were both named Harrison. Stu was a big, happy, mellow guy who enjoyed it when everyone was having fun, and he was taking a nap.

Johnny Harrison was Stu’s Co-Counselor. This was the 2nd time I was lucky enough to be in his bunk. I remember his stories of avoiding harm’s way and coming to this country with his dad at age five… Here’s a picture. If I look upset, maybe it’s because this was the first year the New York Giants, were New Yorkers no longer… or maybe I was practicing standing at attention for my basic training days at Lackland Air Force Base… or maybe I knew that fifty years later that haircut would remain the worst of my life. And that’s saying a lot.

Back Row [L-R] Alan Cooper, Ralph Tyko, Paul Weissman, Mike Foley, Steve Kravitz

Front Row [L-R] Mark Himel, Stu Harrison, John Harrison, Steve Blank

kitt_bunk_19581

Leave a Reply

